2005 ABC Board Meeting and Membership Meeting Hightlights

1. David Smith, NH, appointed to fill the Directorís seat vacated by Pat Carney in the East Coast Region.

2. No change in nationals qualifications.

3. Voted to combine the National Open and Amateur Gun Dog Stakes and run them starting sometime the week of October 23 through the first week of November at Ionia, MI.

4. Voted to raise National Entry Fees to $175.

5. Clarified ABC policy on motel rooms. Any comp rooms provided by the hotel/motels will only be used by show or field judges. Motel room expenses will be paid by ABC for national field trial judges , reporter and the show judges.

6. 3rd Vice President should analyze show receipts and expenses and make recomendations for entry fees for the 2006 National Specialty

7. Voted to pay $200 AFTCA fees for past National Amateur Gun Dog Chamionships that had not been paid.

8. Discussed expenses requested by Sierra View Club for the Western Futurity. Voted to pay last request made in letter dated November 23 minus insurance which is considered a normal regional club expense.

9. Voted to go 50/50on any profits made by clubs hosting a futurity. ABC will absorb reasonable lossses based on ABC Futurity guidelines. Effective date: futurities running Spring of 2006.

10. President will establish a new committee chair and/or committee whose responsibility will be to oversee and promote the dual dog awards in both the futurities and national championships.

11. Voted to house all existing Classic trophies at the Bird Dog Museum with plates to be updated annually.

12. Voted to require host clubs to award either keeper plaques or trophies to all placing dogs in addition to sponsor awards in ABC Classics.

13. Voted to have ABC accept applications from Brittany Championship Associations to run their Championships as ABC/AKC Classics. The applying clubs agree to pay the AKC application fee, the ABC and AKC per dog fees, and to abide by the contract between Purina and the ABC. The ABC agrees to print the trial report and results in the ABC magazine. Clubs will apply for approval to the ABC Secretary prior to submitting AKC application and provide her with proof of insurance.

14. Dogs elected to the ABC Hall of Fame were FC/AFC Jerobís Magic Tradewinds, NAFC/FC Jim De Bobís Sparks A-Dan-Dee and NFC/AFC Aux Arcís Mark.

15. Individuals elected to the ABC People Hall of Fame were Judy Tighe and Jodi Engle.

16. Officers elected for two year terms: President Ron Zook, 2nd VP Marilynne Little, 4th VP Delmar McCallister, and Treasurer Janet Chase.

17. Voted to run All Age Nationals at Booneville in 2006 & 2007 and postpone the decision for 2008 until a later date.

18. Motion to release 1000 additional birds at the All Age Nationals. Birds to be released immediately after the Southland trial or after the last trial before the ABC event.

19. ABC Secretary should place a full page ad in the ABC magazine announcing deadline for members to give names of Director candidates to the nominating committee.

20. The President will appoint a committee to review the entrie futurity program and make recommendations for suggested improvements to the BOD.

21. The members present at the 2005 membership meeting elected Ron Zook to life membership in the ABC.

22. Framed certifcates were awarded to the 2004 Hall of Fame Inductees:
    Francis Clasen, Loyd Budd, and Rob & Carol Richterís DC/AFC R.C.ís Sundancer. 2004 Life Member Certificate was presented to Mary Jo Trimble.

23. Ray Trimble was given a certificate honoring his many years of service as an ABC Director. He chose to not run for re-election this year and to retire from the BOD. His is the longest tenure of any Director in the history of the ABC.

24. Directors Election Results:
    East Coast: Bobbie Sigmund
    (David Smith appointed to fill un-expired term of Pat Carney through December of 2006.)
    East Central: Kent Patterson
    Central: Ed Janulis
    Midwest: Gary Smith
    West: Hank Hartnek